A letter to Listary users 💌

Hello, Listary users! It’s been a long time!

Sorry to disappear for almost three years and then reappear in this way. I have so many feelings to share with Listary and especially with you, the users who have always been with Listary for the past few years.

Perplexed

When starting working on Listary 6, I was a full-time indie developer. In those days, I was constantly thinking about how to develop a better product. I have too many ideas, but hard to classify and drop any. As a result, I was stuck in the puzzle of product design - pile of features. What features might be useful? Provide it. What functions do related products serve? Provide it. What requirements did the users express? Provide it.

So we saw features like “extension”, “web search”, and a slew of others that you and I might never use. The features were fulfilling, yet confusing, both for Listary and myself. I can’t even describe what Listary is in one sentence – any description seems to only cover half of its functions.

By chance, I joined an AI startup in 2019 and started exploring new areas. The working environment has also shifted to macOS and Linux, moving it further away from the soil where Listary thrives. Soon after, due to time constraints, the update came to a halt.

The Awakening

Although I no longer use Windows, Listary has never left me. I don’t know how many times I unconsciously hit the Ctrl key twice on my MacBook Pro while searching with Spotlight, thinking that it shouldn’t be so slow, waiting for that magical directory prompt when saving files…

My enthusiasm for Listary never disappear and I am even more eager to update it right now.

My experience in the field of AI over the last three years has led me to a new stage in both product design and development. This long and brief withdrawal also allowed me to reconsider what kind of product Listary is, what kind of product it will be, what is its weakness, and more importantly, what is its strengths.